St. George’s is an  area rich with Mi’kmaq history.  Mi’kmaq occupation of the area known as “Seal Rocks” has been documented as early as the 1700’s.  Seal Rocks was the largest and principle Mi’kmaq settlement on the West Coast of Newfoundland.  It was established in 1804 as permanent settlement  for the Mi’kmaq of Newfoundland and for the resettlement of the Mi’kmaq from Nova Scotia.  Mi’kmaq oral tradition maintains occupation of the area is ancient.

To celebrate this rich culture a local historic old building has been renovated to house a cultural museum and interpretation center.  This museum is the first and only official Mi’kmaw cultural historic museum for the island of Newfoundland.  The significance of the tremendous contribution of our Mi’kmaq ancestors to Bay St. George will be recognized, celebrated and given its proper place.

 St. George's Indian Band

K’Taqmkuk Mi’kmaw Cultural Historic Museum

The Museum is now what used to be the courthouse, pictured above,  the outside of the building has been restored back to its’ former grandeur and the inside houses the K’taqmkuk Mi’kmaq Museum.  It is  located at Main Street, St. George’s, NL.  The courthouse was built in 1903 and is one of three of its kind in the province of NL.  The building has seen many changes over the years with it being a courthouse, jail, police station, post office, housed a medical clinic, public health and it was then turned over to the St. George’s Indian Band for the sum of one dollar!  The St. George’s Indian Band Council has worked to turn this beautiful site into a cultural experience for all to see.  The courthouse, which it is still called by the townspeople, is a large part of the rich history for the St. George’s area.

The name “K’taqmkuk “ was chosen as this is the Mi’kmaq word for “Newfoundland” .  It literally translates to “Land Across The Water”.  It is also a very fitting title, being that we are the only officially recognized provincial Mi’kmaw Museum for the Mi’kmaq People of NL.

The story of St. George’s begs to be told, as the oldest town in Western Newfoundland.  It has ties to the historic Mi’kmaq settlement at “Seal Rocks” , an historic Mi’kmaq settlement and to “Sandy Point”, which was an historic European settlement.  These communities were only one mile directly across the St. George’s harbor from each other.

Using the historic courthouse as a base, the St. George’s Indian Band looks forward to seeing many tourists come and experience the Mi’kmaq culture and traditions.  The giftshop will be a showcase for local crafts and art work all beautifully handmade.

The St. George’s Indian Band welcomes all visitors; if you would like more information about our band or the museum please feel free to contact us at the information below:

St. George’s Indian Band

Box 262

St. George’s, NL

A0N 1Z0




St. George’s, Newfoundland

The Legend of Glooscap

A relief that was carved by local Mi’kmaq artist and member of the St. George’s Indian Band, Scott Butt.